Tattoos And Elven Worship

Above, you see the beginning of a tattoo idea. I am a huge LOTR (Lord of the Rings for those not familiar with geek speak) fan. It has something that resonates with me. It also took me three months of reading it every day for 45 minutes to get through the book. I read it in it’s original form, as one book. Over 1,000 pages of text with maps included. I had to read it in order to finish something I started a long time ago.
My family is filled with avid readers. My grandmother, mother, aunt, sister, and brother are all voracious readers. They devour books like most people do magazines. Most of my memories of my mother as a child are of her holding a book or a magazine, smoking, and drinking a Pepsi (or Diet Pepsi, Shasta, Fresca … whatever). MOst of the memories she has of her mother are the same. Their genre of choice: mysteries.
My aunt loves mysteries too as well as gothic horror (Edgar Allen Poe) and histories. She could never get through a book in a month cause she was chasing after us kids or doing housework. She is the one who introduced me to Poe and Vincent Price. Now I can’t read Poe without hearing Price’s voice.
My brother shares my love of fiction. He does read a lot of religious texts now though due to his being a lay preacher. Now he more listens to them on audiobooks. We used to go through books so quickly as kids that my mother could hardly keep up.
Lastly, my sister. She is one of the few people who influenced what I read. She gave me my first taste of fantasy with Guardians of the Flame by Joel Rosenburg. I have it still. The binding fell apart and we had to put the cover back on with duct tape, but it’s still good.
I was such an avid reader as a kid, that one year I read almost 230 books. I was about 12 or 13 and in high school. I read everything I could get my hands on. Stephen King, Arthur C. Clarke, Issac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, H.G. Wells, Terry Brooks, Douglas Adams, Piers Anthony, Ursala K. LeGuin, Christopher Pike, L. Ron Hubbard (don’t laugh … he was a sci-fi writer years before he was a self-help guru), Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Clive Barker, and Poe. Those are just the ones I remember.
I tried reading Stranger In A Strange Land and Catcher In The Rye. Could not get into them.
I also was fascinated by cults and things in the “unknown”. I read Chariots of the Gods so many time that I almost had the book memorized. Books on the human body, archeology, languages, trivia, music, modern inventions. Everything was consumed.
I was curious to read The Hobbit after seeing the animated Rankin/Bass movies as a kid. My mom bought me it and added Lord Of The Rings for my birthday. All four books in a nice neat package.
It sat on my shelf for the next 3 years, untouched. I eventually gave them to the local library for them to use or put up for sale in a little used bookstore they have. This was when I was 13.
In the following years, I have had at least three more sets of the books. I even bought it as a single volume about 7 years ago. I never read it. It collected dust and after a while, I would just give it away. So when I finally did read the books, it was a big deal. I had been trying to read them for over half my life.
That explains the elvish script, but what about the quote. It’s not from the LOTR books. Indulge my ramblings a little more? Thanks.
Along the way to reading LOTR, I picked up a few other series. Terry Brooks Shannara series. Margret Weis and Tracy Hickman’s Forgotten Realms books. R.A. Salvatore’s War of the Spider Queen series. J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books. Finally, I “borrowed” a book from my brother. Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series.
At the time, it was only six books into the story. I bought every book I could and read them. As each one came out I fell in love with the story more and more. The book are about a young man who discovers that his life is not what it seems. It is one of the best books I have ever read, and that’s saying something.
In these books, Jordan wove bits and pieces from all storytelling cultures. India, Japan, South American, and African cultures were mined for their mythic characters. In one of the books, the second to be exact, the characters are on the hunt for a horn that can call heroes long in the past back from their places of rest. It has an inscription:
“The grave is no bar to my call.”
Books and words are living creatures that we read and consume. They inform us, entertain us, and take us to far away places that we could only dream of. I want to write in ink on my body what I feel in my heart.
Readers bring writers dreams to life.
Leave a Reply

