Dating Is Not For The Faint Of Heart … Or The Stupid

Dating is one of those things in life that I truly despise. It ranks right up there with cleaning the bathroom and going to the dentist. I would rather spend an entire day doing laundry while up to my elbow in dishes than go on a date. Okay, that might be going a bit far, but you get my point.

I have been actively dating now since I was 18. So for nearly 20 years, I have been meeting new men, having awkward conversations, stuffy meals, and pathetic excuses for a goodnight kiss. Some of them were good, don’t get me wrong. One felt like an out of body experience, it was so good. For the most part, each and every one of them was a disaster.

I’m just not good at dating.

I think I know what my problem is … expectation. I go over how I want the date to go. The types of conversation we will go into, how witty and charming I will be, even sometimes how he will respond to my wit and charm. Where we will go on the date and what I will say when he asks me all the questions he has. I want to leave no awkward pauses, only comfy silences.

It is really any surprise at this point when they go completely off the rails.

When you build something up that much, how can reality match it. If the date goes well, then were off to the races. As each week progresses, my level of expectation grows. If we get to a month, I will have us married and setting up house. I want to run every conceivable scenario in my head just so I know what to do, how to react, and how my hair should look. (Joking about the last one … really.)

Who cares if the date goes bad. What happens if it goes well?

Leave a Reply

